Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: "blacklisted" site
Lavasoft Support Forums > Archived Topics > Archives: Resolved/Inactive Topics > Resolved/Inactive General Support Issues
BFT
Hi,

I have emailed support since March of 2006 and received one reply at the end of April for me to explain what the problem was again.

I own an auto surf site, and have had many complaints from several members that use ad-ware, myself included. Every time ad-ware is run it produces a warning about my website.
When I first received this message, I immediately contacted my script owner and asked him if he could see a possible reason for this. He checked out the site and stated there was no reasonably explanation for it.


Name:Possible Browser Hijack attempt
Category:Misc
Object Type:File
Size:222 Bytes
Location:C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Favorites\Best Free Traffic.url
Last Activity:5-11-2006 10:03:48 PM
Relevance:Low
TAC index:3
Comment:Problematic URL discovered: http://www.bestfreetraffic.net/index.php
Description:Possible attempt to control/redirect the browser. This object
referrs to a "blacklisted" site. If the site listed is the site intended (in
other words, it is set to the setting you wish it to be set to), add this
listing to your ignorelist. If not, then selecting this item will reset your
browser to the default setting for this item.

I have asked that my site be removed from your blacklist several times. Also, would like to ask why it was there to start with?

Would appreciate some help with this problem, since contacting support has not resolved the issue

Sincerely,
Dee
twister
Yeah I wonder why you guys did that too. http://www.bestfreetraffic.net is auto/manual surfing program. It does not have anything to do with spyware programs. Remove it from the list ASAP please.
winchester73
It's NOT in the IE-Spyad database ... smile.gif
BFT
Exactly why I am questioning why http://www.bestfreetraffic.net is on the "blacklisted" sites
BFT
Hello,

Is there anyone that can help with this problem?

Finally, received an answer from customer service. Real good one!

Explaining, how I could do a scan without making a MRU come up.

That is not the answer, I need http://www.bestfreetraffic.net removed from the "blacklisted sites"!


BFT
Corrine
laugh.gif I don't see how the customer support desk can help you. I suspect that they are using scripted replies. I'd suggest that in addition to this thread here you also try the direct approach to via the Lavasoft - Research Portal Vendor Requests at http://www.lavasoftresearch.com/vendor.php since this is effecting your business.
BFT
QUOTE(Corrine @ May 16 2006, 02:04 AM) *
laugh.gif I don't see how the customer support desk can help you. I suspect that they are using scripted replies. I'd suggest that in addition to this thread here you also try the direct approach to via the Lavasoft - Research Portal Vendor Requests at http://www.lavasoftresearch.com/vendor.php since this is effecting your business.



Hi Corrine,

Well I took your suggestion and tried --Lavasoft - Research Portal Vendor Requests on May 17, 2006.

It is now June 08, 2006 and still no reply!

Have any other ideas?

Thank You,
BFT
BFT
Is anyone able to get me some HELP here!

Posted 2 months ago and have received NO HELP!


Dee
BFT
Have posted this in another part of the forum, to NO avail!

Hi,

I have emailed support since March of 2006 and received one reply at the end of April for me to explain what the problem was again.

I own an auto surf site, and have had many complaints from several members that use ad-ware, myself included. Every time ad-ware is run it produces a warning about my website.
When I first received this message, I immediately contacted my script owner and asked him if he could see a possible reason for this. He checked out the site and stated there was no reasonably explanation for it.


Name:Possible Browser Hijack attempt
Category:Misc
Object Type:File
Size:222 Bytes
Location:C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Favorites\Best Free Traffic.url
Last Activity:5-11-2006 10:03:48 PM
Relevance:Low
TAC index:3
Comment:Problematic URL discovered: http://www.bestfreetraffic.net/index.php
Description:Possible attempt to control/redirect the browser. This object
referrs to a "blacklisted" site. If the site listed is the site intended (in
other words, it is set to the setting you wish it to be set to), add this
listing to your ignorelist. If not, then selecting this item will reset your
browser to the default setting for this item.

I have asked that my site be removed from your blacklist several times. Also, would like to ask why it was there to start with?

Would appreciate some help with this problem, since contacting support has not resolved the issue

Sincerely,
Dee
Ad Astra
Hi BFT

Several points.

First this looks like a case of a false positive. All malware detection programs have these from time-to-time. Having the words best and free in a URL could well trigger a pattern match against some web sites that are not 100% good.

Second, it is odd Lavasoft have not replied, they usually treat false positives seriously.

Third, there are some cheap attempts at point scoring in some of the replies to your post.

Hopefully Lavasoft will pick up your report and update their definitions file.
BFT
Hi Ad Astra,

Have not been able to do too much for a month.

Thank You for your reply, explaining th possible reason why.

There are no cheap attempts in my replies, since I have been trying to get some answers since March!
Have members telling me daily that my site is showing up as "
POSSIBLE BROWSER HIJACK ATTEMPT " and then they promptly resign from my site!
If you write that there is a problem with the blacklist, then they are going to ask what, and why.
Why not just furnish the info, right from the start? As I have learned from the past, people do not read what you write they only scan. So if you only post the info once and in later attempts to get an answer you must post the info once again, because they will only ask for it once again....


I am getting pretty upset by all of this and it has not helped my health and well being!

Yes, I have a received a reply from Lavasoft, explaining how I can use the "ignore list"!
Well, it is my opinion that THEY are using the ignore list to all of my inquiries!

Although you have given me a possible reason, that is not a solution.....

So here I sit in limbo, waiting for an answer!


Thank You,
BFT
Ad Astra
Hi BFT

I can see how the name of your URL could trigger a hit using keyword matching hence my initial reply that this looks like a false positive.

Nobody should be comparing Ad-Aware to IE-spyad, they work in totally different ways. This was the post I was refering to about point scoring and not your own replies. You have a valid item that should be investigated.

I am at a loss as to why Lavasoft haven't picked this up yet. They do have a new false positives forum now. Could you post this issue in that forum, hopefully this will increase its visability.
BFT
Hi,

I have emailed support since March of 2006 and received one reply at the end of April for me to explain what the problem was again. Also received another reply telling me how to put an site on the ignore list.
Have posted in this forum since May. This is August and I have received no help!

I own an auto surf site, and have had many complaints from several members that use ad-ware, myself included. Every time ad-ware is run it produces a warning about my website.
When I first received this message, I immediately contacted my script owner and asked him if he could see a possible reason for this. He checked out the site and stated there was no reasonably explanation for it.


Name:Possible Browser Hijack attempt
Category:Misc
Object Type:File
Size:222 Bytes
Location:C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Favorites\Best Free Traffic.url
Last Activity:5-11-2006 10:03:48 PM
Relevance:Low
TAC index:3
Comment:Problematic URL discovered: http://www.bestfreetraffic.net/index.php
Description:Possible attempt to control/redirect the browser. This object
referrs to a "blacklisted" site. If the site listed is the site intended (in
other words, it is set to the setting you wish it to be set to), add this
listing to your ignorelist. If not, then selecting this item will reset your
browser to the default setting for this item.

I have asked that my site be removed from your blacklist several times. Also, would like to ask why it was there to start with?

On a daily basis I have members questioning me on why my site has come up as an "Possible Browser Hijack attempt"! Once I answer them, they decide to resign anyway. I am losing members on a daily basis, because of this error!

Would appreciate some help with this problem, since contacting support has not resolved the issue

Sincerely,
Dee
LS CalamityJane
Hello BFT,

I have merged the 3 topics you have started into this one thread.

This is the Lavasoft Support forum which offers support for Lavasoft products. It is not the appropriate place for posting Vendor requests, so if you are emailing support, you're in the wrong place. As Corrine pointed out above, you need to go here:

Lavasoft - Research Portal Vendor Requests
http://www.lavasoftresearch.com/vendor.php

Vendor FAQ page
http://www.lavasoftresearch.com/vendorfaq.php

Any and all disputes must go through the Vendor Requests page and not be posted in the Support Forum. They will not be reviewed here.

As this is not a Support Issue (it is a Vendor dispute) I'm locking this topic and request that you do not start any more new topics on this matter. Please use the Vendor Request Submission System which was designed specifically for these types of requests.

Thanks for your cooperation smile.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2010 Invision Power Services, Inc.