Gudmund
May 16 2009, 10:51 AM
I have downloaded and installed smart icons from
http://www.sweetim.com/ . This site claims that there is no adware, spyware and virus there. After I have downloaded and installed the smarticons for Yahoo Messenger Ad-Aware 8.0.4 Anniversary Edition claims that there is there is founded malware of some kind and Ad-Aware after do a cleaning of my system. Does anybody knows if it is tru? If so this site
http://www.sweetim.com/ are behaving really bad.
casey_boy
May 16 2009, 12:28 PM
I will move this to the false positive forum to get checked out. Since, after googling, I get a variety of contradicting opinions on the software.
Please help the malware researchers by uploading your scan log.
Casey
LS Andy
May 18 2009, 05:49 AM
Hi Gudmund,
Thanks for your post. Our description of the application reads:
"SweetIM is an instant messenger add on. This application installs without providing sufficient notice in terms of the availability of choices presented to the user with regard to automatic updating and automatic startup of the application, the absence of nofication of a continuously running process in the background, installation on other user accounts, and uninstallation issues"
Ad-Aware doesn't categorise SweetIM as malware - if you check the scan results, we have put it in the 'Misc' category with a TAI score of 3. I wouldn't call the application malware, but it does exhibit some questionable behaviour, which we feel is appropriate to mention to Ad-Aware users. Having read the description, if you feel that the application's behaviour isn't a problem, I would recommend you add it to your ignore list.
Hope this helps!
Regards,
Andy
Lavasoft Malware Labs.