Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Possible False Positive
Lavasoft Support Forums > Archived Topics > Archives: Resolved/Inactive Topics > Resolved/Inactive False Postive Issues
78seconds
Apologies if I'm not posting correctly to report a possible false postive.

I updated from Adware 2007 to Adaware AE and ran a scan which reported Win32.TrojanDropper.VB on a file freerec.exe which is part of Roemer Software's Free Hi Q Recorder ( http://www.roemersoftware.com/free-sound-recorder.html ).
I have used Free Hi Q before and my previous version of Adaware did not report a problem. I removed the suspected Trojan and downloaded Free Hi Q again.
When I scanned the download install file, Adaware did not report a problem, but after running the install of Free Hi Q again, Adaware again reported a problem on the installed executable.

I received the following reply from Roemer Software.
"Thanks for writing. Yes unfortunately I've been hearing that a lot lately.

I have done some research on Google on

Win32.TrojanDropper

If you type that term in google you'll find lots of discussion on it. What I found was that Ad-Aware appeared to be what most people were talking about in regards to that file.

Most said that ad-aware was falsely identifying legitimate files, including system files like Explorer.exe etc. as malware. Some people said that updating the 'definition file' got rid of the false report.

Lots of people said that their other anti-virus, spyware, etc. software didn't show any problems after scanning.

I wrote the program so I know there isn't anything malicious in it.

Hope this helps, thanks and best wishes,

Rick Roemer"


I would like to confirm whether this is in fact a false positive. I have attached the zipped executable freerec.exe and adaware log files
LS Anders
Hello 78seconds

Thank you for reporting. The file will be removed from detection with the next definition update.


Regards
LS Anders
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.