Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: TrojanDownloader:Win32/Small
Lavasoft Support Forums > Archived Topics > Archives: Resolved/Inactive Topics > AAW Anniversary Edition - Resolved/Inactive
BFlat
I installed Ad-Aware AE Anniversary Edition on Jan. 22, 2009. Today (Jan. 25) I received a Windows Defender warning about TrojanDownloader:Win32/Small.

When I installed Ad-Aware, it said I needed to also install Microsoft Visual C ++ Runtime 9.0 (includes ATL and MFC) Service Pack 1. So it was installed.

Today when I searched the internet for the trojandownloader:win32/small, I found this website: http://www.viruslist.com/viruses/encyclopedia?virusid=126390
which says: "This Trojan downloads other malicious programs. It is a Windows PE EXE file. It is written in Microsoft Visual C++. It is not packed in any way. The size of infected files may vary from 20KB to 27KB."

So what's going on? Has Ad-Aware given me a trojan? Has Microsoft given me a trojan?

I did click "remove all" on the Windows Defender screen. I have no idea if clicking "remove all" has removed the trojan, or if it's just a button that clears the Windows Defender warning screen.

I updated and ran SpyBot and it found nothing.

I updated and ran Ad-Aware Free and it found "suspicious object" c:\windows\system32\virport.dll but after investigation, I found out this suspicious object is for Go2PDF (a PDF printer) which I installed.

So has the TrojanDownloader:Win32/Small been removed from my computer? How would I know? Who gave it to me - Ad-Aware or Microsoft?

Thanks
casey_boy
it sounds like a flase positive on Windows Defender's part to me.

Ad-Aware, if downloaded from the LS website, will NOT give you a virus or anything similar - nor will the C++ download.

If you have run scans on your system and it is all clean now, then I'd breath a sigh of relief smile.gif

Casey
BFlat
QUOTE(casey_boy @ Jan 25 2009, 07:27 AM) *
it sounds like a flase positive on Windows Defender's part to me.

Ad-Aware, if downloaded from the LS website, will NOT give you a virus or anything similar - nor will the C++ download.

If you have run scans on your system and it is all clean now, then I'd breath a sigh of relief smile.gif

Casey


I hope it's just a false positive. Yes, I got the Ad-Aware from the official website. Thanks for the info.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2010 Invision Power Services, Inc.