• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 akadios

akadios

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 03 December 2009 - 06:37 PM

I just wanted to let everyone know that after getting this bug and trolling the forums for an answer only to see there was none I started playing around. I found a solution and its quite simple:

-Run install
-Select your language
-Agree to the terms but instead of clicking continue select the customize install option.
-Open your C drive and create the folder C:\adaware
-then change the install directory to "C:\adaware\" and ALSO change the program folder to "adaware"
-click next and do not select to install the driver
-after install goto the C:\adaware\Ad-Aware\Drivers\ directory select your operating system (32 or 64 bit) right click lbd.inf and select install
-a window pops up telling you to restart, do so...

2343 bug = squashed.

(Obviously there is still a bug with the installer that needs to be tracked down and fixed by lavasoft but this is a work around)

PS: if anyone wants to take the time to re-write this with pictures and what not feel free I just wanted to get the work around out there.

Also I hope knowing this work around will help lavasoft figure out what is actually going wrong for so many customers :P.

#2 casey_boy

casey_boy

Volunteer Helper/Moderator

• Volunteer Security Advisor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3565 posts

Posted 03 December 2009 - 07:31 PM

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to post this workaround. I will add it to the current workarounds thread we have as it may well help lots of people.

FYI, I imagine that your workaround would work no matter what the other folder name is. Also, did you ever try installing without the driver before changing the installation folder?

Casey

If I have been helping you and I do not reply within 48hours, feel free to send me a PM.

* My Website * Malware Removal Help * If you'd like to say thanks *Lavasoft Customer Support

#3 akadios

akadios

• Members
  • Pip