Jump to content


Photo

Ad Aware SE Personnal won't download new updates


  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#1 miltonschick

miltonschick

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 November 2006 - 09:19 AM

I have been using Lavasoft Ad Aware SE Personal Free software for many
years. Starting about 2 weeks ago, my program refused to download updates.
It would run for 5% and then state "Error retrieving updates." I just tried
to download the program again as new, believing there was a corrupted file,
and I now not only get the same results, but my definitions now say
"Definitions file SE1R47 24.05.2005 Loaded." I've now lost all of my Ad Aware
files for the past 18 months! What's going on!

{Topic Title Edited}

#2 LJO

LJO

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 08 November 2006 - 12:56 PM

I have been using Lavasoft Ad Aware SE Personal Free software for many
years. Starting about 2 weeks ago, my program refused to download updates.
It would run for 5% and then state "Error retrieving updates." I just tried
to download the program again as new, believing there was a corrupted file,
and I now not only get the same results, but my definitions now say
"Definitions file SE1R47 24.05.2005 Loaded." I've now lost all of my Ad Aware
files for the past 18 months! What's going on!

I'm having the same problem. It is reported by users in three of the Lavasoft forums, but no responses from Lavasoft staff...

#3 kingdiesel

kingdiesel

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 08 November 2006 - 02:03 PM

I have been using Lavasoft Ad Aware SE Personal Free software for many
years. Starting about 2 weeks ago, my program refused to download updates.
It would run for 5% and then state "Error retrieving updates." I just tried
to download the program again as new, believing there was a corrupted file,
and I now not only get the same results, but my definitions now say
"Definitions file SE1R47 24.05.2005 Loaded." I've now lost all of my Ad Aware
files for the past 18 months! What's going on!



I had a similar problem before. Try this and see if it works:

Go into your web configuration and see if you have USE HTTP PROXY SETTING ON.

If you do click on it until you see the RED X.

Then try to update the files.

When I had couldn't update my files, I thought I had a bug. But it was because it wasn't getting thru the proxy wall.

Hope this helps.

KD

#4 kingdiesel

kingdiesel

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 08 November 2006 - 02:06 PM

I had a similar problem before. Try this and see if it works:

Go into your web configuration and see if you have USE HTTP PROXY SETTING ON.

If you do click on it until you see the RED X.

Then try to update the files.

When I had couldn't update my files, I thought I had a bug. But it was because it wasn't getting thru the proxy wall.

Hope this helps.

KD


BTW, you will be checking the web configuration on the Ad-Aware SE.

#5 rocketronr6

rocketronr6

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 08 November 2006 - 02:39 PM

BTW, you will be checking the web configuration on the Ad-Aware SE.


Thanks for your help on that but you be a bit more specific as to where I might find the web settings.

Thanks again

Ron

#6 rocketronr6

rocketronr6

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 08 November 2006 - 02:53 PM

I found the settings kingdiesel was talking about but the red cross was already on - in fact I tried it both red crossed and green ticked but it still stopped at 5%.

Any more thoughts?

Ron

#7 EllenHeck

EllenHeck

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 November 2006 - 03:28 PM

I am also seeing this on 2 machines. One was just upgraded to IE7 (it could download updates under IE6) and one is a new computer but also has IE7 on it. Which version of IE are people with this problem using?

#8 rocketronr6

rocketronr6

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 08 November 2006 - 04:07 PM

I am also seeing this on 2 machines. One was just upgraded to IE7 (it could download updates under IE6) and one is a new computer but also has IE7 on it. Which version of IE are people with this problem using?

I've got IE6 and it's happening after 5%

Ron

#9 CALYPSODELMAR

CALYPSODELMAR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 08 November 2006 - 04:27 PM

I can't get updates either. It just says there's a problem and try again later. Then you have to click "Okay."


Calypso

#10 nancycsmith

nancycsmith

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 November 2006 - 04:42 PM

I am having the same problem loading updates. I have SEPersonal on two computers. One does just fine and just loaded new definitions. The other goes to 5%, says error retrieving data and gives no further information. It is clearly connected to the internet. Like Milton Schick, I thought I must have a corrupt program, so deleted and downloaded new from the site today. Now the definitions files say version SER472405 and I have lost the last 18 months worh of downloads. What gives out there? Obviously we are not the only ones having difficulty retrieving current definitions.

#11 LS CalamityJane

LS CalamityJane

    Former Lavasoft Staff

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 8814 posts

Posted 08 November 2006 - 04:53 PM

The servers are not busy. The load is very low and they work perfect.

Do you all get the “new update available" message?

If not, it could be that you have not gotten the latest dns record.

We have changed the address for the dat text files that Ad-Aware is looking for.

You could always see if the servers are up.

The are located at 82.99.19.xx and xx is 11 to 17

[Servers]
server0=82.99.19.11/public/defs.ref
server1=82.99.19.12/public/defs.ref
server2=82.99.19.13/public/defs.ref
server3=82.99.19.14/public/defs.ref
server4=82.99.19.15/public/defs.ref
server5=82.99.19.16/public/defs.ref
server6=82.99.19.17/public/defs.ref

And the dat file and the defs.ref is located at /public/wu.dat

Ex 82.99.19.11/public/wu.dat

...................................................
Be sure that you have the latest version (AAW SE build 1.06r1). It could be you are using an old build and need to upgrade to v. 1.06

Ad-Aware Latest Version
http://www.lavasofts...?showtopic=1163
..................................
Furthermore from the FAQ
Ad-Aware SE Personal, Plus, and Professional
http://www.lavasoft....upport/faqs.php

I cannot perform a web update of the Definition File after upgrading Ad-Aware SE; there is an error in retrieving the update.

This problem may be caused by one of the following factors:

* The Definition File on your system might be corrupt. To check, locate the directory "C:\program files\lavasoft\Ad-Aware SE\ folder." Delete the files "defs.ref" and "def.ref.old." Try to update again.
* If the update stops after only five percent is processed, your firewall is most likely preventing the update. To correct this, disable the firewall for the duration of the update or configure the firewall to allow requests from Ad-Aware SE to pass through.
* Web update confirmation dialogs are suppressed. To correct this:
o Open Ad-Aware SE.
o Click the "Ad-Aware SE Configuration Window" icon.
o Click "Tweak."
o Click on "Web Update Settings" to expand it.
o Deselect "Suppress Web Update confirmation dialogs."
* You have inadvertently turned on the "Use HTTP Proxy" option. To correct this:
o Open Ad-Aware SE.
o Click on the "Integrated Web Update Tool" icon.
o Click on "Configure."
o Deselect the "Use HTTP Proxy" option.
o Try updating the Definition File again.
* If none of the above is preventing the update, we recommend that you try performing a manual update. To do this:
o Close Ad-Aware SE.
o Download the latest Definition File in ZIP format and save the file to a temporary location.
o Unzip the contents of the file either with a ZIP utility or with the built-in support in Windows to the Ad-Aware SE installation directory, which usually is "C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-Aware SE\".
o Open Ad-Aware SE.
o Confirm that the latest Definition File is installed by checking the "Initialization Status" in the main program window.
Please do NOT send Private Messages to Staff or helpers to request assistance! We do not give a personal support via PM The way to request help is to post a NEW TOPIC in the appropriate forum.

Look for the *New Topic* Button near the top right when viewing the forums.

Here in the forums, replies are posted to topics only. Thank you for your understanding and cooperation!
Plus and Pro Ad-Aware users (only) may use the Support Center for personal assistance:
Support Center


Microsoft MVP/Windows - Security 2003-2009

#12 LS CalamityJane

LS CalamityJane

    Former Lavasoft Staff

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 8814 posts

Posted 08 November 2006 - 08:06 PM

I was finally able to re-create the problem and it looks like a DNS issue because it wasn't finding the right servers (Stoffe had just said they had changed up there in my prior response). Then I tried again an hour later and it resolved to the correct IP for the download. So it may be that your ISP isn't resolving it correctly. Either manually download the latest defs or wait and try again later through the webupdate.

You can manually download the latest defs here
http://download.lava...public/defs.zip

Then extract the contents of the zip file to your directory where Ad-Aware is stored; usually:
C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-Aware SE

If you are using the webupdate, these are the servers it needs to connect to as listed above:
82.99.19.xx where xx is 11 to 17

It might also help flush your DNS cache

To do this simply enter: ipconfig /flushdns in a command prompt. (Go to: Start / Run and type in the box: cmd
Then, at the prompt, copy and paste in this text:
ipconfig /flushdns

Explained here (with screenie)
DNS in Windows XP
http://www.updatexp....windows-xp.html
Please do NOT send Private Messages to Staff or helpers to request assistance! We do not give a personal support via PM The way to request help is to post a NEW TOPIC in the appropriate forum.

Look for the *New Topic* Button near the top right when viewing the forums.

Here in the forums, replies are posted to topics only. Thank you for your understanding and cooperation!
Plus and Pro Ad-Aware users (only) may use the Support Center for personal assistance:
Support Center


Microsoft MVP/Windows - Security 2003-2009

#13 mrblue

mrblue

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 08 November 2006 - 10:41 PM

I was finally able to re-create the problem and it looks like a DNS issue because it wasn't finding the right servers (Stoffe had just said they had changed up there in my prior response). Then I tried again an hour later and it resolved to the correct IP for the download. So it may be that your ISP isn't resolving it correctly. Either manually download the latest defs or wait and try again later through the webupdate.

You can manually download the latest defs here
http://download.lava...public/defs.zip

Then extract the contents of the zip file to your directory where Ad-Aware is stored; usually:
C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-Aware SE

If you are using the webupdate, these are the servers it needs to connect to as listed above:
82.99.19.xx where xx is 11 to 17

It might also help flush your DNS cache

To do this simply enter: ipconfig /flushdns in a command prompt. (Go to: Start / Run and type in the box: cmd
Then, at the prompt, copy and paste in this text:
ipconfig /flushdns

Explained here (with screenie)
DNS in Windows XP
http://www.updatexp....windows-xp.html





Surprise, surprise!!!

I too have the exact same problem!!!

I would like to make the following points: I, like many others, PAY for this software. This simply is not good enough. I use 2 other anti-spyware programs which are free that have better support.

ALSO, ALL AD-AWARE USERS SHOULD READ THIS: http://malware-test....d6&topic=2359.0

Its interesting reading.

I will continue to use ad-aware, but perhaps with a little more scepticism.

I would be very interested in any feedback from an official LAVASOFT representative on the above link.

LS Calamity Jane - over to you!!!!!!!!!

#14 LJO

LJO

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 09 November 2006 - 01:38 AM

I'm not using an old version. I have Ad-Aware Plus Build 1.06r1.

I have made the changes suggested to Tweak etc. (Proxy Settings were already correct), but there is no change in the behaviour (still only 5%, plus "Error retrieving update").

I did recently change from an ADSL-modem-only-connection to my local service provider, to a local router with built in ADSL modem. But I've disabled the router's built-in firewall and still get the same problem.

I flushed the DNS cache. No difference in behaviour.

I have made no recent changes to settings on my machine i.e. since I last updated Ad-Aware definitions without problems.

I have manually updated. Thanks for the directions.

It seems a great coincidence that 7? users report the same problem within 24 hours?

Consider the statement "We have changed the address for the dat text files that Ad-Aware is looking for"...

#15 LS CalamityJane

LS CalamityJane

    Former Lavasoft Staff

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 8814 posts

Posted 09 November 2006 - 01:38 AM

You link is broken Mr. Blue

Are you still having a problem updating? What is the date of the latest reference file you have?
Please do NOT send Private Messages to Staff or helpers to request assistance! We do not give a personal support via PM The way to request help is to post a NEW TOPIC in the appropriate forum.

Look for the *New Topic* Button near the top right when viewing the forums.

Here in the forums, replies are posted to topics only. Thank you for your understanding and cooperation!
Plus and Pro Ad-Aware users (only) may use the Support Center for personal assistance:
Support Center


Microsoft MVP/Windows - Security 2003-2009

#16 gotaro

gotaro

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 58 posts

Posted 09 November 2006 - 02:22 AM

I clicked on the "Check for Updates Now" tonight and got the message "Error Retrieving Update."
Anyone else having same problem?

#17 LB525

LB525

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 November 2006 - 02:37 AM

You link is broken Mr. Blue

Are you still having a problem updating? What is the date of the latest reference file you have?


I noticed this same problem last night with my ad-aware. Tried all of the trouble shooting techniques last night; none worked. Did a manual download. This still didn't fix error. After reading the above posts, I tried the one last thing I hadn't tried yet-- flushing my dnr cache. Followed the instructions posted above, booted up ad-aware, hit the check for updates button, and it worked. At least I'm figuring that it did because it didn't get caught up at the 5% level and then blurt out an error message. This time it ran the cycle (I think) and told me that no current updates are available.

Thanks for the clue-in to the cmd thingie. I wouldn't have known to try something like that on my own.

Hope it works for others. I, too, was very put off by the scenario when it seemed nothing or noone could remedy the problem.

LB

#18 Orionw

Orionw

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 November 2006 - 02:40 AM

I clicked on the "Check for Updates Now" tonight and got the message "Error Retrieving Update."
Anyone else having same problem?


I had the same problem. Rebooted computer and downloaded SE again, but still get the same error, as above.

Orion

#19 citizen of the world

citizen of the world

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 November 2006 - 02:40 AM

i am getting this error message

Attached Images

  • untitled.jpg


#20 goldj

goldj

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 November 2006 - 02:58 AM

I had the same problem. Rebooted computer and downloaded SE again, but still get the same error, as above.

Orion

I had the same problem. I'm trying to update my pc 2 days ago and i get the same error.
How can tell me what's happening?




3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users