Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

whats happened?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 onlinegamesnz

onlinegamesnz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 15 April 2013 - 06:56 AM

Maybe someone can explain to why the **** i would buy this software. After installing, im STUCK with the SecureSearch search toolbar in FireFox. After I uninstalled it from programs&features, went into firefox add ons and removed it from there, yet it still remains!

 

Your software looks more like MALWARE!

 

Also, once installed i am unable to connect to the lavasoft update server. Disabled all profiles in windows firewall and retried. Still NOTHING! Thus meaning i am unable to update the definitions file and run a scan?

 

So, i guess i start looking elsewhere!



#2 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7331 posts

Posted 15 April 2013 - 01:30 PM

Hi onlinegamesnz,

You can opt-out from the toolbar during the installation, and it isn't malware but a more secure search than Google. Please, check http://www.lavasofts...-search-engine/ and if you still have it afterwards, please be more specific with where you see it.

Is your computer connected to internet through a proxy server?
What other antivirus and security related program have you installed?

#3 onlinegamesnz

onlinegamesnz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 16 April 2013 - 07:13 AM

Thanks for the reply. No proxy and no other anti virus software installed! It had become the default search for firefox, replacing google even after i have removed the plug-in from the firefox plugin manager and have restarted multiple times.

 

Thanks!



#4 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7331 posts

Posted 16 April 2013 - 03:40 PM

You are welcome :)

In Firefox, please, click on the little down arrow to the left of the search field, and select "Manage Search Engines". Set your wanted search engine and remove search engines you don't want to have. See https://support.mozi...r-search-engine for more details.

Do you get any message when you click on "Check for updates" on "Update Definitions" tab, and what happens?
Have you restarted the computer since you installed Ad-Aware?
Which Windows version do you have, and is it 32 or 64 bits?

See this topic http://www.lavasofts...-ad-aware-free/ where it was solved after a reinstallation of Ad-Aware in default folder.

#5 onlinegamesnz

onlinegamesnz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 17 April 2013 - 09:28 AM

Thanks mate, this sorted it. Im sorry but im not using adaware any longer.

 

Thanks!



#6 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7331 posts

Posted 17 April 2013 - 12:34 PM

You are welcome :)






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users