Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Couldn't Connect To Update Service

unable to update

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 elijahthomas777

elijahthomas777

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 01 January 2013 - 03:55 PM

I just downloaded Ad-Aware free and it installed correctly. When trying to update the antivirus definitions I get an error that states "Couldn't Connect to Update Service". The progress meter acts like it is downloading something and then when it reaches the end this message pops up in a new message box.

#2 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7233 posts

Posted 01 January 2013 - 05:11 PM

Hi elijahthomas777,

Please, restart the computer and test again.

If you still can't update Ad-Aware, please answer the following questions.

Is your computer connected to internet through a proxy server?
Which Windows version do you have?
Do you have another antivirus program installed?

#3 RMc-Canada

RMc-Canada

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 03 January 2013 - 01:55 PM

Hi Cecilia,


My Definition update seems ok but the Program update gives the ‘Couldn't connect message. Must be an issue.

#4 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7233 posts

Posted 03 January 2013 - 04:04 PM

Hi RMc,

Can you download the latest version from Lavasoft (Cnet) website?
http://www.lavasoft...._aware_free.php

#5 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7233 posts

Posted 03 January 2013 - 04:06 PM

Hi elijahthomas777,

Please, restart the computer and test again.

If you still can't update Ad-Aware, please answer the following questions.

Is your computer connected to internet through a proxy server?
Which Windows version do you have?
Do you have another antivirus program installed?

No known update issues January 2.

#6 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7233 posts

Posted 03 January 2013 - 04:51 PM

It seems to be a general issue with downloading new Ad-Aware versions from inside the program. Lavasoft is investigating.

Edit:
A clarification:
The issue isn't with the Ad-Aware program, but with the server having the latest version of Ad-Aware.

#7 erpguy6

erpguy6

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 70 posts

Posted 03 January 2013 - 05:25 PM

I'm having the exact same problem as elijathomas777, CeciliaB.
I guess the Lavasoft server(s) recently are either not working well or overcrowded, thus ad-aware definition update downloads are very slow and suddenly time out after little or no activity. or ad-aware has problems connecting to the lavasoft server for updates but other web sites work okay.

this is where I miss downloading ad-aware definition updates manually.

#8 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7233 posts

Posted 03 January 2013 - 05:53 PM

Hi erpguy6,

:( I'll contact Lavasoft again. I haven't noticed any issues with definition updates this year, but maybe it depends on where in the world you are. You two are in US and I'm in Europe.

#9 RMc-Canada

RMc-Canada

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 03 January 2013 - 07:06 PM

Hi RMc,

Can you download the latest version from Lavasoft (Cnet) website?
http://www.lavasoft...._aware_free.php



Just to be clear, I already have Ad-Aware installed. Their are Two update options in Ad-Aware?, One for Definitions & One for the Program itself?, I was just saying the Program update is giving me that error message & I just checked & it still is.

#10 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7233 posts

Posted 04 January 2013 - 12:14 AM

I'm sorry, I thought you had e.g. 10.4.47.41.63 and Ad-Aware told you that a new version was available but you couldn't download it. I hope Lavasoft has fixed the server issue soon.

#11 RMc-Canada

RMc-Canada

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 04 January 2013 - 04:17 AM

I'm sorry, I thought you had e.g. 10.4.47.41.63 and Ad-Aware told you that a new version was available but you couldn't download it. I hope Lavasoft has fixed the server issue soon.



Nope I own Pro, Software version 10.4.49.4168?. Just hit 'Check for new version' & am still recieving the could not connect message. BTW?, Re-installing it did not help. Definitions seem to be downloading ok.


No Worries Cecilia, just tryin to help ;)

#12 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7233 posts

Posted 08 January 2013 - 03:43 PM

The update issue is now resolved :)





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: unable to update

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users