Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

16 bit MS-DOS error popping up after uninstalling AdAware


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 sushigal007

sushigal007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 21 September 2012 - 11:03 AM

My computer had to be formatted recently, and once it was running again, I installed AdAware which I have always loved. Afterwards, my computer would take an extremely long time to respond after booting up, and would then lock up after a few hours. To my surprise, the culprit turned out to be AdAware, so I uninstalled it using CC Cleaner.

After that, whenever I run The Sims 2 Bodyshop, I would get the message '16 bit MS-Dos Subsystem: C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers. Virtual Device Driver format in the registry is invalid. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.' Hitting Close makes the pop-up close for about five seconds, then it appears again. I did some Googling and found out how to add the registry entry, but it didn't stop the pop-ups. I can run Bodyshop and I can move the pop-up down out of the way, but it's not much of a solution.

On a whim, I reinstalled AdAware, thinking maybe it was uninstalling it with CC Cleaner that caused the problem. Once I reinstalled it, the pop-ups stopped. I then uninstalled it from the Control Panel. The pop-ups came back.

So, does anyone have a solution I can try? One that doesn't involve reinstalling AdAware, as hiding the pop-up is far less annoying than not being able to use my PC for 45 minutes after booting up.

#2 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7796 posts

Posted 21 September 2012 - 12:50 PM

Hi sushigal007,

I haven't seen anyone with your problem before and before I ask Lavasoft, I need to know which Windows version, including 32 or 64 bits, you have.
Do you have another antivirus program installed?

#3 sushigal007

sushigal007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 21 September 2012 - 12:58 PM

Hi Cecilia. I'm running Windows Vista, SP2, 32 bit. I also have Avast antivirus and SpyBot Search and Destroy, although SpyBot isn't set to load at startup.

#4 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7796 posts

Posted 21 September 2012 - 01:26 PM

Hi sushigal007,

Avast and Ad-Aware 10 Free Antivirus+ can't be used together. That is probably the cause to the slow computer.

It is also possible that Avast disturbs the uninstallation. Is it possible to disable Avast and will it continue to be disabled after a restart of the computer?

Edit:
Does the registry has the proper value according to Microsoft http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314452 ?

#5 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7796 posts

Posted 21 September 2012 - 06:47 PM

Hi again,

Lavasoft said that this message is often seen on infected computers. Please, do a complete scan of the computer with Avast and do an online scan for a second opinion, for example with Eset's scanner.

If you choose Eset's scanner, this is how to handle it:

To shorten the scanning time disable Avast while scanning.

Un-check "Remove found threats"
Check "Scan Archives"

Click "Advanced Settings"
Check:
Scan for potentially unwanted applications
Scan for potentially unsafe applications
Enable Anti-Stealth Technology

Click Scan

When the scan completes the log file C:\Program\Eset\Eset Online Scanner\log.txt is created. Open it in Notepad and paste its content in your answer.

#6 sushigal007

sushigal007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 21 September 2012 - 09:42 PM

Sorry for the late reply, I've been out all evening. I shall run a full scan with Avast tonight and report back, thanks.

#7 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7796 posts

Posted 21 September 2012 - 10:38 PM

No need to apologise :)
We have a life in the real world, too ;)

#8 sushigal007

sushigal007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 22 September 2012 - 09:25 AM

Neither program found anything and here are the results of the scan by Eset:

ESETSmartInstaller@High as downloader log:
all ok
# version=7
# OnlineScannerApp.exe=1.0.0.1
# OnlineScanner.ocx=1.0.0.6583
# api_version=3.0.2
# EOSSerial=fd91a2ba5f578549ab95db422e4e89e1
# end=finished
# remove_checked=false
# archives_checked=true
# unwanted_checked=true
# unsafe_checked=true
# antistealth_checked=true
# utc_time=2012-09-22 03:06:43
# local_time=2012-09-22 04:06:43 (+0000, GMT Daylight Time)
# country="United Kingdom"
# lang=1033
# osver=6.0.6002 NT Service Pack 2
# compatibility_mode=5892 16776573 100 100 435491 185804824 0 0
# compatibility_mode=8192 67108863 100 0 152 152 0 0
# scanned=244389
# found=0
# cleaned=0
# scan_time=11108
Also, adding the restry value back didn't work. Just to clarify your suggestion in post four, you want me to try disabling Avast completely, then installing and uninstalling AdAware again, correct?

#9 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7796 posts

Posted 22 September 2012 - 10:54 AM

Good that no infections were found.

Yes, that is exactly what I was thinking :) but then Avast must stay disabled even after a restart of the computer.

#10 sushigal007

sushigal007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 26 September 2012 - 07:36 AM

Hi Cecilia. I disabled the Avast shields permanantly, then reinstalled and uninstalled AdAware again, but I'm still getting the same pop-up.

#11 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7796 posts

Posted 26 September 2012 - 04:02 PM

Hi sushigal007,

Have you tried to reinstall The Sims 2 Bodyshop, when you have the error message?

I have asked my contact person at Lavasoft, if they have any more suggestions.

#12 sushigal007

sushigal007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 26 September 2012 - 11:37 PM

I'm pretty sure I can't uninstall Bodyshop without uninstalling at least one expansion for The Sims, and I'd probably have to uninstall all of them, which would wipe my saved game and downloads. Sure, they can be backed up, but last time I forgot to save a bunch of files that I'm still trying to track down now, so it's not something I'm willing to do right now, sorry.

#13 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7796 posts

Posted 27 September 2012 - 12:03 AM

Let us wait and see if Lavasoft has more suggestions then.

#14 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7796 posts

Posted 28 September 2012 - 03:28 PM

Hi again,

Lavasoft hasn't seen this behaviour in other computers and would like to investigate it further. Do you accept that they connect to your computer? You will be able to see everything they do, and you can stop them, if you think they do something you don't like.

#15 sushigal007

sushigal007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 29 September 2012 - 01:15 PM

Oooh, I've never done that before, so I'd need an idiot's how to guide on how it works, but if it'll help get this fixed, then sure.

#16 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7796 posts

Posted 29 September 2012 - 10:56 PM

I think, that the only thing you need to do, is to run an installation program and do what it says. Please, send your email address in a PM to me and I'll forward it to Lavasoft. They will probably send an email to you on Monday.

#17 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7796 posts

Posted 30 September 2012 - 12:58 AM

Thank you for the email address. I have forwarded it to Lavasoft.

#18 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7796 posts

Posted 09 October 2012 - 02:25 PM

Hi sushigal007,

Are you satisfied with the help from Lavasoft?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users