Jump to content


Photo

corrupted internet explorer search provider


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
27 replies to this topic

#1 xradb22t

xradb22t

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 29 August 2012 - 09:24 PM

How this all occurred is when i tried zone alarm firewall. downloaded it from www.Major geeks.com, major geeks is a safe site where you could download lots of cool programs. but i never expected them to have a bad program among all of the others.

what occurred when i installed it.

After installation everything seemed to be fine, but when i started up my browser Mozilla Firefox it froze on me and it would not respond, plus my laptop froze as well. that was a bit of a shock after that took place, but eventually after a series of (nerve grinding episodes and teeth clenching's) i got the program uninstalled.

I also had to uninstall Firefox and re-install it as well to fix damages done. but in internet explorer i couldn't fix the corrupted search provider.

if you want i will post a dds log when i get my laptop from my friend, that i lent to while i removed infections on his, help provided from you guy's and lady's. :D

#2 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7686 posts

Posted 29 August 2012 - 11:18 PM

Hi xradb22t,

You can post a DDS log and let us see the settings for search provider.

#3 xradb22t

xradb22t

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 30 August 2012 - 09:03 PM

here is the dds log i made


Attached File  DDS.log   12.1KB   247 downloads

when i open up ie a pop-up box appears saying:

A program on your computer has corrupted your default search provider setting for Internet Explorer.

do you need the attach file as well?

#4 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7686 posts

Posted 30 August 2012 - 10:23 PM

Uninstall:
uTorrentBar Toolbar, reason: http://www.systemloo...LSID/71935.html

Change the start page in Internet Explorer to something else than www.searchqu.com/421 since that is a bad web site.

Restart the computer.

Disable Avast and run DDS again.
Please post both DDS logs.

#5 xradb22t

xradb22t

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 30 August 2012 - 11:19 PM

uTorrentbar Toolbar is not installed on my computer, i would have seen it in programs and features.

even revo does not find it.

its folder is located in c:\program files (x86) uTorrentBar
should i remove its folder


i changed the start page in Internet Explorer to msn

here is both of the dds logs.

Attached File  DDS log.txt   12.17KB   223 downloads

Attached File  Attach.txt   5.61KB   185 downloads

Edited by xradb22t, 30 August 2012 - 11:41 PM.


#6 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7686 posts

Posted 30 August 2012 - 11:34 PM

It is configured as a search engine (provider?) in Internet Explorer.
mURLSearchHooks: uTorrentBar Toolbar: {bf7380fa-e3b4-4db2-af3e-9d8783a45bfc} - C:\Program Files (x86)\uTorrentBar\tbuTor.dll
I don't use Internet Explorer, but it should be possible to configure the search engines. If you can find the configuration, it is better to remove it there first and then delete the folder. If you only delete the folder, Internet Explorer maybe gets confused.
  • xradb22t likes this

#7 xradb22t

xradb22t

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 30 August 2012 - 11:59 PM

i opened up Internet Explorer, navigated to the tool icon right hand top corner, then clicked on internet options

under internet options, i clicked on change search default settings

the default one that is set is bing. i only disabled it, cannot remove it because the remove button is faded.

i cant set a defualt to another search provider, its not allowing me to change it.

i dont use Internet explorer as well, but i want this problem gone.

Edited by xradb22t, 31 August 2012 - 01:32 AM.


#8 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7686 posts

Posted 31 August 2012 - 12:16 AM

You can leave Bing as search default.

Let us see if it can be fixed with OTL. Save OTL on the Desktop. http://oldtimer.geekstogo.com/OTL.exe
Close all programs.

Double-click OTL to run it.
Click on Quick Scan and do not use the computer while the program runs.

When the program finishes two log files are created on the Desktop, OTL.txt och Extras.txt. Paste the contents of the log OTL.txt into your answer.

#9 xradb22t

xradb22t

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 02 September 2012 - 10:03 PM

sorry for my delayed reply, i was looking for ways to fix this problem with microsoft answers, but their tips didn't help me.

here is the otl log you have asked for


Attached File  OTL.Txt   59.84KB   196 downloads

i hope this will work.

#10 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7686 posts

Posted 02 September 2012 - 10:46 PM

No need to apologise :)

1.
Have you decided that you want to install https://addons.mozil...n/better-links/ in Firefox?
Have you decided that you want the SearchResults and bing-zugo (have nothing to do with Bing from Microsoft) search engines installed in Firefox?

2.
Close all programs including antivirus programs and other similar programs. Otherwise they might stop OTL.
How? See http://www.bleepingc...opic114351.html

Start the program OTL.
Copy all the lines in the box:
:OTL
IE:[b]64bit:[/b] - HKLM\..\SearchScopes\{9BB47C17-9C68-4BB3-B188-DD9AF0FD2421}: "URL" = http://www.searchqu.com/web?src=ieb&appid=0&systemid=421&sr=0&q={searchTerms}
IE - HKLM\..\URLSearchHook: {91da5e8a-3318-4f8c-b67e-5964de3ab546} - No CLSID value found
IE - HKLM\..\URLSearchHook: {bf7380fa-e3b4-4db2-af3e-9d8783a45bfc} - C:\Program Files (x86)\uTorrentBar\tbuTor.dll (Conduit Ltd.)
IE - HKLM\..\SearchScopes\{9BB47C17-9C68-4BB3-B188-DD9AF0FD2421}: "URL" = http://www.searchqu.com/web?src=ieb&appid=0&systemid=421&sr=0&q={searchTerms}
IE - HKLM\..\SearchScopes\{afdbddaa-5d3f-42ee-b79c-185a7020515b}: "URL" = http://search.conduit.com/ResultsExt.aspx?q={searchTerms}&SearchSource=4&ctid=CT2645238
IE - HKCU\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page Restore = http://search.conduit.com?SearchSource=10&ctid=CT2645238
IE - HKCU\..\URLSearchHook:  - No CLSID value found
FF - prefs.js..browser.search.defaultenginename: "Searchqu Web Search"
FF - prefs.js..browser.search.order.1: "Searchqu Web Search"
FF - prefs.js..keyword.URL: "http://www.searchqu.com/web?src=ffb&appid=0&systemid=421&sr=0&q="
O3:[b]64bit:[/b] - HKLM\..\Toolbar: (no name) - 10 - No CLSID value found.
O3 - HKLM\..\Toolbar: (no name) - {99079a25-328f-4bd4-be04-00955acaa0a7} - No CLSID value found.
O3 - HKLM\..\Toolbar: (no name) - 10 - No CLSID value found.
O3 - HKCU\..\Toolbar\WebBrowser: (no name) - {D4027C7F-154A-4066-A1AD-4243D8127440} - No CLSID value found.
@Alternate Data Stream - 112 bytes -> C:\ProgramData\TEMP:D1B5B4F1
:Commands
[CREATERESTOREPOINT]
[REBOOT]
Paste them into the field Custom Scans/Fixes.
Click on Run Fix.

If you are asked to restart the computer do that.

Notepad will pop-up with a log. Copy it and paste it into your answer.
If it is not pop-upped, you can find it in the folder c:\_OTL\Moved Files and its name contains the date and time for when OTL was run.

Be sure that antivirus programs etc. are active before connecting to internet.

3.
Run OTL as you did the first time and post the new OTL.txt.

#11 xradb22t

xradb22t

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 04 September 2012 - 07:20 PM

1 Better links is installed as an add-on in Firefox, but it was set to disabled(not by me, probably when firefox was updated)
so i set it to enabled.

2 Im not that familiar with search results and bing-zugo, i only use Google as my search provider(only one, if i have other search providers as well).


Here is the results to the otl fix that was run.

Attached File  09042012_110618.log   5.12KB   180 downloads

#12 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7686 posts

Posted 04 September 2012 - 11:49 PM

1. Are you sure that you want to use BetterLinks? For me it looks like ads and I find their privacy policy questionable: http://www.getbetterlinks.com/privacy
See comments on http://www.mywot.com...betterlinks.com

2. Please, remove SearchResults and bing-zugo search engines. You do that by clicking the arrow to the left of the search field in Firefox and selecting to manage the search engines. Find the search engines and delete them.

3. Restart Firefox and run OTL as you did the first time. Please, paste OTL.txt into your answer.

4. How is Internet Explorer behaving now?

#13 xradb22t

xradb22t

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 05 September 2012 - 08:04 PM

betterlinks inserts blue underline's in high quality content, here is an example http://getbetterlinks.com/

i just ignore them and dont click on them, if there not that safe i will remove it from firefox.


here is the otl quick scan

Attached File  OTL.Txt   55.7KB   176 downloads


the corrupted search setting's box still pops up when i open up Internet Explorer. the only method to get rid of it i know is to do a clean install of windows 7.

#14 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7686 posts

Posted 05 September 2012 - 11:40 PM

1. We try again.

Close all programs including antivirus programs and other similar programs. Otherwise they might stop OTL.
How? See http://www.bleepingc...opic114351.html

Start the program OTL.
Copy all the lines in the box:
:OTL
IE:64bit:[/b] - HKLM\..\SearchScopes,DefaultScope = {9BB47C17-9C68-4BB3-B188-DD9AF0FD2421}
IE:64bit: - HKLM\..\SearchScopes\{9BB47C17-9C68-4BB3-B188-DD9AF0FD2421}: "URL" = http://www.searchqu.com/web?src=ieb&appid=0&systemid=421&sr=0&q={searchTerms}
[2011/11/09 15:35:18 | 000,002,520 | ---- | M] () -- C:\Program Files (x86)\mozilla firefox\searchplugins\SearchResults.xml
O3:64bit: - HKLM\..\Toolbar: (no name) - 10 - No CLSID value found.
[2011/05/19 19:46:15 | 000,000,000 | ---D | M] -- C:\Users\andrey m\AppData\Roaming\OpenCandy
:Commands
[CREATERESTOREPOINT]
[REBOOT]
Paste them into the field Custom Scans/Fixes.
Click on Run Fix.

If you are asked to restart the computer do that.

Notepad will pop-up with a log. Copy it and paste it into your answer.
If it is not pop-upped, you can find it in the folder c:\_OTL\Moved Files and its name contains the date and time for when OTL was run.

Be sure that antivirus programs etc. are active before connecting to internet.

2.
Control Panel - Internet Options
On the Advanced tab select to restore everything in Internet Explorer, that is the last button.
You can read what it changes on http://support.micro...kb/923737/en-us section "More information". You have to enable the add-ons from Avast afterwards.

#15 xradb22t

xradb22t

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 06 September 2012 - 10:43 PM

here is the olt fix retry

Attached File  09062012_143749.log   1.83KB   144 downloads


i have already tried reseting ie setting to default it did not work, i also tried this fix from microsoft and it did not work either. here is the link

http://support.micro...nd_safety/en-us

#16 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7686 posts

Posted 06 September 2012 - 11:55 PM

Please, see these pages that list some suggestions to try:
http://social.msdn.m...fb-f3a5daeb65e9
http://social.techne...f7-d832b745bcea

#17 xradb22t

xradb22t

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 07 September 2012 - 09:12 PM

both of these 2 site's were off no help

#18 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7686 posts

Posted 07 September 2012 - 10:23 PM

Please, post the exact message or maybe even better a screen shot of it.

#19 xradb22t

xradb22t

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 07 September 2012 - 11:41 PM

Posted Image


this is the first that pops up when i open up Internet explorer

the second one looks like the one below




Posted Image




the problem is i cant remove the corrupted bing search provider because when i click on it the set as default and remove
are faded out. you will probably get what im saying.


is this what you wanted? if yes then this is what i am dealing with

Edited by xradb22t, 07 September 2012 - 11:44 PM.


#20 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7686 posts

Posted 08 September 2012 - 12:20 AM

It isn't Bing that is corrupt. Windows has set the search provider to Bing since another program tries to change to another (corrupt) search provider. Maybe the dialogue boxes disappear if you check "Prevent programs from ..." or you can investigate what program you installed before this problem began, since it is probably that program that wants to change to another search provider.

According to the logs, you probably installed Comodo August 24th, Avast 21th and a program from DVDVideoSoft 9th.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users