Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Help! Cannot install update to Ad-aware 10

update adaware 10 error message Adaware Pro 10.0 update

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 nancy58

nancy58

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 18 May 2012 - 01:05 PM

When my AdAware opens (I have AdAware Pro 10.0..185.3207) it tells me theres a new version available (even though I have automatic update checked)... So I click on the link and it takes me here http://downloads.lav...e/update101.asp

When I click on run it tells me "This Program contains a virus and was deleted"
Why does it do that ?? How can I get the new update to install ?
I use IE9 Windows Vista Ultimate Service pack 2 32 bit

Please help!
Thank you
Nancy

#2 LS Ann

LS Ann

    Lavasoft Staff

  • Moderator
  • 80 posts

Posted 18 May 2012 - 01:55 PM

Hello nancy58,

Save installer first please. And then run it.

Thanks,
Ann

#3 nancy58

nancy58

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 29 May 2012 - 02:59 PM

I did that too and it still says that
Now what ??

#4 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7529 posts

Posted 29 May 2012 - 03:48 PM

Hi nancy58,

Are you sure that it is Ad-Aware 10.0 that reports that the installation file for 10.1 contains a virus?
Do you have another antivirus program installed?
Can you install other programs or do you get the same message?
Have you noticed any sign of infections, virus or other malicious programs?

#5 nancy58

nancy58

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 29 May 2012 - 04:14 PM

I have AdAware Pro 10.0..185.3207 and I click update right from the Adaware Update "check for new version"
and I also went directly to the Lava Soft website to try and do it from there
I have no other AnitVirus programs
YES I can install other programs and I do not get that message
I have No sign of infections, virus or other malicious programs

#6 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7529 posts

Posted 30 May 2012 - 10:32 AM

I have discussed this with Ann and as far as we know the message is not displayed by Ad-Aware. Please, take a screen shot (Print Screen) of the message, when you download the file, and attach it to your answer.

Maybe Windows Defender is displaying the message, but we don't know.

You might try to download the new version after you have started Internet Explorer without any add-ons. You do that in this way:
Start menu - All programs - Accessories - System Tools - Internet Explorer (no add-ons)

#7 nancy58

nancy58

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 03 June 2012 - 10:12 PM

well I just turned off the Adaware Pro and then tried to download again and it worked this time ! ?????
Didnt turn it off last time, maybe that was the issue!

#8 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7529 posts

Posted 03 June 2012 - 10:36 PM

Strange, but I'm glad you have resolved it :)





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: update, adaware 10, error message, Adaware Pro 10.0 update

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users