Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Ad-Aware 10 Shuts down while scanning


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 HelpMe12345

HelpMe12345

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 28 April 2012 - 04:37 PM

After about 5 minutes of scanning, a red box will pop up saying THREAT DETECTED, but it will continue scanning (I am running a full scan) and after about an hour, the computer will just shut down. Also, I looked at the log files and this is what it said:


[ERROR] [1] tid=3064 23:21:43.390625 [Security::AdAware::Detail::ScheduleSaver::Procedure:97] ComExeption Triger save fail Com Error 8007007a The data area passed to a system call is too small.

System specs:

Dell Precision M6300
MS Windows XP Professional SP3 version 2002
Intel Core 2 Extreme CPU X900 @ 2.80 GHz
2GB of RAM

#2 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7701 posts

Posted 30 April 2012 - 12:15 PM

Hi HelpMe12345,

It is possible that the infection disturbs Ad-Aware and causes the error. But usually when a computer turns off, it is overheating.
I will inform my contact person at Lavasoft to see if they know anything about the error message.

Can you find any information about the threat, threat type, file name and folder?
Maybe in a file in the folder Lavasoft\AntiMalware\History? I'm not sure where that particular folder is located in an XP computer but probably somewhere below C:\Documents and Settings.

#3 HelpMe12345

HelpMe12345

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 30 April 2012 - 09:59 PM

I have found a log file. I'll upload it, but I don't know what the infected file is. Here is the log.

Attached Files



#4 HelpMe12345

HelpMe12345

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 30 April 2012 - 10:01 PM

Hi HelpMe12345,

It is possible that the infection disturbs Ad-Aware and causes the error. But usually when a computer turns off, it is overheating.
I will inform my contact person at Lavasoft to see if they know anything about the error message.

Can you find any information about the threat, threat type, file name and folder?
Maybe in a file in the folder Lavasoft\AntiMalware\History? I'm not sure where that particular folder is located in an XP computer but probably somewhere below C:\Documents and Settings.


By the way, it was in C:/Documents and Settings/jj1/Application Data/Ad-Aware Antivirus/20120429T223402.593750PID2076/GuiFramework.Log

#5 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7701 posts

Posted 30 April 2012 - 10:14 PM

Sorry but that is not the correct log file. See if you can find the right folder if you look in C:\Documents and Settings\All users\Application Data.

#6 HelpMe12345

HelpMe12345

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 30 April 2012 - 11:11 PM

I tried to find another log file, but there is no folder for Ad-Aware in the 'All users' application data. In C:\Documents and Settings\jj1 (my username), there is a folder called AppData and one called Application Data. Should AppData be there? I looked there and there is nothing except a folder named LocalLow, which contains another folder named DataMngr, which contains a file called {7CA1F051-A4FB-4143-B263-02B41E571EED}. I do not know the file type.

Edited by HelpMe12345, 30 April 2012 - 11:17 PM.


#7 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7701 posts

Posted 01 May 2012 - 10:18 AM

The folder DataMngr must belong to some other program.

Please, configure This Computer/Windows Explorer to display all files, if you haven't done that: http://www.microsoft...extensions.mspx

The scanning log is not in your personal profile, it is located in a folder that can be accessed by all accounts on the computer.

#8 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7701 posts

Posted 03 May 2012 - 01:52 PM

Are you still with us, HelpMe12345?

My contact person could not say anything when only seeing that line from the log file. She would like to have all logs.
Is it possible for you to pack C:\Documents and Settings\All users\Application Data\Lavasoft\AntiMalware into a zip file and upload it together with your answer?

Does the computer shut down in the same way every time you run a scan in Ad-Aware?

#9 HelpMe12345

HelpMe12345

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 03 May 2012 - 11:04 PM

Yes, I have been busy. Sorry about that. Also, yes, My computer does shut down the same way. The power just suddenly turns off. It doesn't shut down like it normally would. And I can upload the AntiMalware folder.

Attached Files



#10 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7701 posts

Posted 03 May 2012 - 11:26 PM

No need to apologize :)

Do you have a program that displays the temperatures in the computer?
If not, for example HW Monitor can display that, and it is downloadable from http://www.cpuid.com.../hwmonitor.html where I suggest you select "1.19 32-bit (.zip, no installation)" to minimize the risk that any toolbars are installed.

#11 HelpMe12345

HelpMe12345

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 04 May 2012 - 05:47 PM

Ok, I installed the program. I'll upload a screenshot of what it said.

Attached Files



#12 HelpMe12345

HelpMe12345

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 04 May 2012 - 05:51 PM

Oops, forgot to show the battery information.
Here you go :)

Attached Files


Edited by HelpMe12345, 04 May 2012 - 05:53 PM.


#13 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7701 posts

Posted 05 May 2012 - 12:21 AM

In the last screen shot the core temperatures have rather high max. temperatures (58 and 59 degrees C) if you haven't done anything. The temperature of the graphics (Nvidia) is rather high the whole time. What will happen with the temperatures when you start a scan?

#14 HelpMe12345

HelpMe12345

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 05 May 2012 - 05:32 AM

I'll take a screenshot when I scan, but how long into the scan do you want me to take a screenshot? I also should probably say that I use another anti malware program, Malwarebyte's anti-malware.

#15 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7701 posts

Posted 05 May 2012 - 10:22 AM

You don't need to take a screen shot, just watch if the temperatures are raising when you start the scan and to which levels before the computer shuts down. Probably no problem using MBAM at the same time as Ad-Aware.

#16 HelpMe12345

HelpMe12345

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 05 May 2012 - 02:14 PM

Ok, I noticed that the CPU gets heated up as soon as the scan starts. They go to around 65-75° C.
Also, the graphics card usually stays the same temperature. The CPU is constantly changing, however

Edited by HelpMe12345, 05 May 2012 - 02:43 PM.


#17 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7701 posts

Posted 05 May 2012 - 03:20 PM

Then the computer is turned off due to over-heating. You need to improve the ventilation in the computer since the ventilation channels probably have been filled with dust. If it is a laptop, I recommend that you let a computer shop open and clean it.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users