Jump to content


- - - - -

Adware V10 error


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_marciocruz_*

Guest_marciocruz_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 February 2012 - 02:43 PM

Hi, i have download version 10 from download crew,
but whe i install that, the program keep showing a error:

"Couldn't connect to update service"
And don't enable real time protention,don't do anyting.

i have remove, and install again, and keep showing this message.

#2 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7336 posts

Posted 08 February 2012 - 03:09 PM

Hi marciocruz,

The Ad-Aware version you can find on internet is not the version to be released. Please, do not use it.
http://www.lavasofts...0-almost-ready/

#3 dinovom

dinovom

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 09 February 2012 - 08:40 PM

But we shoudl be able to install the current version cause i have another error when installing: The "Adaware_Installer_10.0" tells it installs fine but then there are no installation files (No Program files/Data, AppData) ... then i tried directly calling latest downloaded version - Ad-Aware_Antivirus_2011_Free_Setup_10.0.155.2969 (as also one version before i guess 10.0.138?) and it quit with the installer-error 2718. Normally this indicates some older files left but i deinstalled Ad-Aware 9 befor, run CCleaner (for Temp Files and Registry) also jv16 Power Tools where i searched for Adware, Ad-aware and Lavasoft in Registry and Files, i also run sfc /scannow to check installer works fine. Also other installations inbetween worked fine. Still no change.

Edited by dinovom, 09 February 2012 - 08:43 PM.


#4 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7336 posts

Posted 09 February 2012 - 11:16 PM

Hi dinovom,

Please, don't use the beta version that is available on internet.

#5 dinovom

dinovom

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 13 February 2012 - 06:51 PM

And if i would like to? Just want to know if you found a soulution/workaround for this? Btw. i found it on http://www.computerb...rheit/ad-aware/ where it isn't marked as beta (while they are a serious source, even mark alpha version etc.), just that you know something on the release infos to them got wrong.

#6 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7336 posts

Posted 14 February 2012 - 12:39 PM

Sure, you can use the beta version, but there are several serious bugs in it.

Lavasoft recommends Revo Uninstaller when there are issues with Ad-Aware.

Error 2718 is from Windows' msiexec and sometimes in means that the installation file is corrupt. Did the other installations you tried, use msiexec or did they have their own installation programs?
Suggestions can be found in:
http://answers.micro...e2-63c69d4e16f4
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310353 Should be valid for newer Windows, too.

Do you have another antivirus program installed? It might interfere.

#7 dinovom

dinovom

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 14 February 2012 - 10:07 PM

Thanks for respond.

Well, it still doesn't work, here is what i tried:

1. (as said above run CCleaner and jv16PowerTools and expanded search to: *AAWInstaller*; *Ad-Aware*; *AdAware*; *Lavasoft*; *{DED53B0B-B67C-4244-AE6A-D6FD3C28D1EF}*; *607A2AA1CB949F94A9F19ADC941B9155*; *8A7F7066B18235C4CB404CF57D927111*)
2. run scf/ scannow (also MSIExec /unregister eg. regserver, either this shouldn#t be nessecary then)
3. Do a clean boot with windows files only (and avira/comodo as services aren't easally able to be disabled but i can deactivate it on programs which i already did before)
4. (still 3. valid) Reinstalled Ad-Aware and uninstalled with Revo free most agrassive mode (again run 1.)

Also i tried the same file in a VM running XP x86 SP3 - there it installed/runs without problems. Here on Win7 x64 SP1 i can't get it beside that error. V9.6 installed without problems also i don't experience any other problems. Btw. i also took a look in event viewer but it wasn't much of a help:

Protokollname: Application
Quelle (Source): MsiInstaller
Ereignis-ID (Event-ID): 10005
Aufgabenkategorie (task category) : Keine (None)
Ebene (Level): Fehler (Error)
Schlüsselwörter (Keywords): Klassisch (classic)
Produkt: Ad-Aware -- Bei der Installation dieses Pakets ist ein unerwarteter Fehler aufgetreten. Es liegt eventuell ein das Paket betreffendes Problem vor. Der Fehlercode ist 2718. Argumente: {DED53B0B-B67C-4244-AE6A-D6FD3C28D1EF}

Edited by dinovom, 14 February 2012 - 10:10 PM.


#8 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7336 posts

Posted 14 February 2012 - 10:54 PM

You are welcome :)

Do you have Avira and/or Comodo installed in your VM?
Since Ad-Aware Free 10 is an antivirus program with complete real-time protections, there is a risk of conflicts with Avira.
See LS Digger Barnes explanation about possible conflicts with other security programs in the post http://www.lavasofts...ndpost&p=125582
There is no need to have Avira when you have Ad-Aware 10. See, for example this test result: http://www.virusbtn....0/rap-index.xml

It is also possible that Comodo stops parts of Ad-Aware installation since it has so many protections.

#9 dinovom

dinovom

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 15 February 2012 - 12:39 PM

No, there is no Comodo or Avira on VM, but i don't think there should be conflicts as i said on 3. that i deactivated avira realtime scan and comodo defense+ (Comodo AV is disabled generally i just use Firewall and Defense+ and yeah if you aren't an experienced user comodo is hard to configure but that isn't valid for me) Actually i am out of ideas - there shouldn't be left-overs (due to 4. incl. 1.), no compatibility problems (as WinDefender, Avira, Comodo deactivated and trust me, there is nothing else that watches processes i regularly check MS Sysinternals autoruns also i did a clean boot), installer is ok (as it installed in VM).

Well i yet don't have another Win7 installation but on another drive i have Win8 Devel. Preview installed (with nearly nothing else) and i am going to test it there.

#10 CeciliaB

CeciliaB

    Volunteer

  • Moderator
  • 7336 posts

Posted 15 February 2012 - 01:59 PM

On http://www.pc-librar...ode/2718-0xA9E/ you will find some other suggestions regarding Error 2718 from Windows Installer.
More suggestions, some are already mentioned: http://support.micro...b/2438651/en-us

#11 LS Ann

LS Ann

    Lavasoft Staff

  • Moderator
  • 79 posts

Posted 24 February 2012 - 11:14 AM

Hello dinovom,

Can you please check if no Ad-Aware 9 files left and uninstall completely previous version of Ad-Aware 10 deleting all the settings and definitions. Reboot computer after uninstallation and try to install again. If the problem remains, that can be because of incompatibility with other antivirus program. Next version, which should be soon, will show a window telling with what programs installed on your computer Ad-Aware 10 is incompatible.

Thanks,
Ann - Lavasoft QA




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users