• This topic is locked This topic is locked
11 replies to this topic

#1 Dr. John

Dr. John

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 16 November 2009 - 07:36 AM

I've been using Ad-Aware free versions for a few years now, and installed the Anniversary Edition when it came out. All has been well until today. Today (11/15) I downloaded updated definitions and after that process completed I tried to restart Ad-Aware. I got the splash screen (the one that says "Loading ...") and there it stuck. I have since tried three or four more times (after rebooting the computer each time) always with the same result.

This is an old system - Pentium IIIE 933 MHz, 384 MB SDRAM, Windows XP Professional SP2, Internet Explorer 7. Avast! 4.8 antivirus, Windows Defender, Windows firewall, Internet connection by dialup (nominal 56K, actual 45.2). System HDD 9.5 GB with about 2.2 GB free; data HDD 60 GB with almost 17 GB free. Those are separate physical drives.

I have just created a HiJackThis log, in case that is of interest. There are a couple of things in that log I wonder about, but don't have the expertise to analyze myself.

What to do?

Thanks,

Dr. John

#2 visitor

visitor

Advanced Member

• Valued Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 2855 posts

Posted 16 November 2009 - 09:07 AM

I assume you updated via the Anniversary Edition GUI Web Update? If so, that updates both the software and definitions. If you weren't already up to the final version 8.0.8 released in Sept 21, it could be the newer version. To isolate whether it's software or definitions, you can try this:

- download definitions only from http://download.lava...public/core.zip - right now, there's been a problem with updating, so the definitions there are from Monday November 9. Hopefully you'll see this within ~12 hrs when they may fix it and replace it with today's new definitions.

- extract the core.aawdef file and replace the current definitions located at