Jump to content


Photo

Ad-Aware AE installed, but will not start


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
13 replies to this topic

#1 Mr Joe

Mr Joe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 27 September 2009 - 10:50 PM

I was able to install AE with no problems, but when I try to use it, I get an error message stating that the application configuration is incorrect and that reinstalling may correct the problem. I have tried reinstalling several times and still get the same error message. My pc is running XP Media Center with service pack 3.

#2 visitor

visitor

    Advanced Member

  • Valued Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 2855 posts

Posted 28 September 2009 - 05:11 AM

Did you install AE over a previous version? If so, you should do a clean uninstall of all Lavasoft and Ad-Aware files, folders, and registry entries before installing AE. It's supposed to uninstall previous versions, but it doesn't work well. You can cleanup manually which is what I did, or use http://www.revouninstaller.com/ which others have used with success.
Before posting, please read the pinned topics atop the forums or check the Lavasoft searchable FAQs.

Lavasoft Support for Plus/Pro paid licenses.

Help fight malware! Upload Suspicious Files to Lavasoft.

Malware removal assistance? Please read this first.
After following the instructions, open a new thread in the HijackThis Forum where you can copy/paste your HJT log.
Note: do not bump HJT threads by replying - volunteer security advisors help the 0 reply threads on a first-come, first-served basis.

#3 Mr Joe

Mr Joe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 29 September 2009 - 04:03 AM

I installed over the 2008 version. I tried the revo uninstaller and reinstalled AE, but still get the same error message.

#4 visitor

visitor

    Advanced Member

  • Valued Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 2855 posts

Posted 29 September 2009 - 11:43 AM

when I try to use it, I get an error message

Does the error popup when you try to open the GUI or when you try to scan?

Can you attach a screenshot? It might help to see a message number or the exact text.

Check task manager to see if AAWService.exe and AAWTray.exe are both running.

Run services.msc and make sure Lavasoft Ad-Aware Service is Started and Automatic. If you right-click properties of the service, I attached images of the 4 property tabs here:

http://www.lavasofts...mp;#entry110774
Before posting, please read the pinned topics atop the forums or check the Lavasoft searchable FAQs.

Lavasoft Support for Plus/Pro paid licenses.

Help fight malware! Upload Suspicious Files to Lavasoft.

Malware removal assistance? Please read this first.
After following the instructions, open a new thread in the HijackThis Forum where you can copy/paste your HJT log.
Note: do not bump HJT threads by replying - volunteer security advisors help the 0 reply threads on a first-come, first-served basis.

#5 Mr Joe

Mr Joe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 30 September 2009 - 03:15 AM

The error message pops up first, the GUI never appears. I did notice that I have two Lavasoft folders under Program Files, which is obviously a problem. I attached screenshots of the error, registry entries, and the two Ad-Aware folder contents. I used the Revo Uninstaller again and took a screenshot of what it found. I deleted those items and reinstalled AE again. There is only one this time. The same error message still appears.

Attached Thumbnails

  • screenshot6.jpg

Attached Images

  • screenshot1.jpg
  • screenshot2.jpg
  • screenshot3.jpg
  • screenshot4.jpg
  • screenshot5.jpg


#6 visitor

visitor

    Advanced Member

  • Valued Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 2855 posts

Posted 30 September 2009 - 11:30 AM

Glad you got rid of the 2nd Ad-Aware folder!

Now, maybe 2 things:

1. Did you check these things from my last post?

Check task manager to see if AAWService.exe and AAWTray.exe are both running.

Run services.msc and make sure Lavasoft Ad-Aware Service is Started and Automatic. If you right-click properties of the service, I attached images of the 4 property tabs here:

http://www.lavasofts...mp;#entry110774


2. I noticed in your screenshot of C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-Aware there is a file missing, metafile.dat
According to this post, in order to update Ad-Aware, this file is downloaded and compared to determine if update is available. I am not sure if this is initially installed, or downloaded with the 1st update. Maybe the error is due to the missing file? Right-click/Save this file to the Ad-Aware folder:

http://download.lava...09/metafile.dat
Before posting, please read the pinned topics atop the forums or check the Lavasoft searchable FAQs.

Lavasoft Support for Plus/Pro paid licenses.

Help fight malware! Upload Suspicious Files to Lavasoft.

Malware removal assistance? Please read this first.
After following the instructions, open a new thread in the HijackThis Forum where you can copy/paste your HJT log.
Note: do not bump HJT threads by replying - volunteer security advisors help the 0 reply threads on a first-come, first-served basis.

#7 lizgoode206

lizgoode206

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 01 October 2009 - 06:10 PM

I was having the same problem and your information gave me what I needed to get it fixed. Thanks so much for your help.

#8 Mr Joe

Mr Joe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 October 2009 - 01:48 AM

Neither AAWService.exe or AAWTray.exe are running. Lavasoft Ad-Aware Service does not appear when I run services.msc. I copied metafile.dat into the Ad Aware folder, but I still get the same error message.

#9 visitor

visitor

    Advanced Member

  • Valued Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 2855 posts

Posted 02 October 2009 - 04:29 AM

Neither AAWService.exe or AAWTray.exe are running. Lavasoft Ad-Aware Service does not appear when I run services.msc.

OK, looks like you'll need to manually install the Lavasoft Ad-Aware Service:

How to install the Ad-Aware Service:
Sometimes an unsucessful install might not install the service correctly and when this occurs, we need to install the service.

Method 2:
Manually create the service - credit to mnelsoneorm

  • Start > Run > type cmd > enter
  • In the black cmd window, type:
    sc create AAWService binpath= c:\program files\lavasoft\ad-aware\aawservice.exe displayname= "Lavasoft Ad-Aware Service"
    exactly as written here.
  • Restart your computer and see if Ad-Aware will run.


Before posting, please read the pinned topics atop the forums or check the Lavasoft searchable FAQs.

Lavasoft Support for Plus/Pro paid licenses.

Help fight malware! Upload Suspicious Files to Lavasoft.

Malware removal assistance? Please read this first.
After following the instructions, open a new thread in the HijackThis Forum where you can copy/paste your HJT log.
Note: do not bump HJT threads by replying - volunteer security advisors help the 0 reply threads on a first-come, first-served basis.

#10 Mr Joe

Mr Joe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 03 October 2009 - 02:24 AM

I tried this, but the service is not getting created. I think the problem is the space between "program" and "files". I took it out and a service was created. However, the space needs to be there have the correct path for the service. I tried using "program files" with the quotes, but it would not create the service.

#11 visitor

visitor

    Advanced Member

  • Valued Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 2855 posts

Posted 03 October 2009 - 01:15 PM

Hmmm, how about the string below. The original poster and another person got it to work, but I'm not sure if they used the abbreviated string with the ~1 or they completed the string as posted above.

sc create AAWService binpath= c:\progra~1\lavasoft\ad-aware\aawser~1.exe displayname= "Lavasoft Ad-Aware"

Sorry, if this doesn't work, it's beyond me and maybe someone else can offer a solution. However, I never asked if you're using the Free version. If you paid for the Plus or Pro version, you can contact Lavasoft for customer support via the link in my signature.
Before posting, please read the pinned topics atop the forums or check the Lavasoft searchable FAQs.

Lavasoft Support for Plus/Pro paid licenses.

Help fight malware! Upload Suspicious Files to Lavasoft.

Malware removal assistance? Please read this first.
After following the instructions, open a new thread in the HijackThis Forum where you can copy/paste your HJT log.
Note: do not bump HJT threads by replying - volunteer security advisors help the 0 reply threads on a first-come, first-served basis.

#12 Mr Joe

Mr Joe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 03 October 2009 - 06:03 PM

I got the service created using that string, and I set it up like in your post from a few days back. Unfortunately, I still get the same configuration error message. The only difference is that it has an error number now, 14001.

#13 Mr Joe

Mr Joe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 03 October 2009 - 10:04 PM

I googled "error 14001" and found this site along with many others.

http://www.velocityr...-incorrect.html

They fixed the problem by running this. Apparently the issue is with MS Visual C++ redistributable.

http://www.softdevla...credist_x86.exe

I tried it and it worked. The error message went away, and ad-aware tried to load. It couldn't load the service, so I uninstalled it and reinstalled it. It works fine now. Thanks for your help.

#14 visitor

visitor

    Advanced Member

  • Valued Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 2855 posts

Posted 04 October 2009 - 10:17 PM

Thanks for posting back about error 14001 and the MS Visual C++ fix. Glad you finally got it to work! I'll close this thread now :D
Before posting, please read the pinned topics atop the forums or check the Lavasoft searchable FAQs.

Lavasoft Support for Plus/Pro paid licenses.

Help fight malware! Upload Suspicious Files to Lavasoft.

Malware removal assistance? Please read this first.
After following the instructions, open a new thread in the HijackThis Forum where you can copy/paste your HJT log.
Note: do not bump HJT threads by replying - volunteer security advisors help the 0 reply threads on a first-come, first-served basis.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users