Photo

"This application has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Reinstalling the application may fix the problem."

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
61 replies to this topic

#1 dwang0725

dwang0725

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts

Posted 11 August 2009 - 10:01 PM

I am a total newbie with computers, so please forgive me if I sound ignorant... I think my computer has been infected by a virus or malware. Everytime I try to launch an .exe application, I get the error message in the title. I am only able to open Firefox. I have tried to DL and install hijackthis to create a log, but I am unable to open the .exe file. The same message appears. Something is affecting Window's ability to launch .exe files. I am running Windows XP Pro and I do not have my back up discs. I lost them in a recent move.

My problem is eerily similar to that of the user in this post. http://www.lavasofts...showtopic=26442

Could someone help me out?

Thanks,
Dave

#2 dwang0725

dwang0725

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts

Posted 12 August 2009 - 01:40 PM

Can anyone help me out? I'm at wits end trying to fix this bug. Thanks in advance.

Dave

#3 Blade81

Blade81

Advanced Member

• Volunteer Security Advisor
  • PipPipPip
  • 6582 posts

Posted 12 August 2009 - 01:53 PM

Hi,

Please download xp_exe_fix.zip archive attached to this message and extract it to your desktop. Double-click fix.vbs and let it run.

Note: Fix is meant to be used in this specific case only. Using it in some other computer or operating system is strictly prohibited and may render your system inoperable.

Download DDS and save it to your desktop from here or here or here.
Disable any script blocker, and then double click dds.scr to run the tool.
  • When done, DDS will open two (2) logs:
    • DDS.txt
    • Attach.txt
  • Save both reports to your desktop. Post them back to your topic.
Download GMER and save it your desktop: