• This topic is locked This topic is locked
5 replies to this topic

#1 shaney

shaney

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 02 June 2008 - 05:08 PM

I just downloaded Adaware '08. I got updates without problems but it won't scan. The current path and object both say "waiting for scanner". The timer is moving but nothing else happens. Then it comes back done and nothing is found. When you check scan status, nothing is run. HELP please. I am a novice and don't know what to do.

#2 lynz

lynz

Ad-Aware 2008 Beta Tester

• Valued Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 03 June 2008 - 05:43 AM

hi shaney,
Have you tried updating the software, not the definition files,the sctual software? There was a new software update that seems to have fixed the freezing during scans issue for many users, you could give that a try.

From start click on All Programs > Lavasoft > AdAware > Software Update and let it go to the download center and get the newest updates, then try to scan again.

BTW, don't give up on the scan too soon, it does sometimes take 30- 60 seconds of "waiting for scanner" before it begins to show any files being scanned.

Post back and let me know if this works for you :)

I tell you this, no eternal reward will forgive us now for wasting the dawn

#3 MoBo2512

MoBo2512

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 08 June 2008 - 08:01 PM

Same problem here.. downloaded and installed AA2008 and after updating the scan doesnt start.
I tryed the software update und updated the def. files... no change

u click "scan" and a message appeares with "waiting for scanner" after 30 sec the scan is finished without 1 object scanned...

thought i did something wrong and deinstalled the prog, reinstalled it -> no change

I dont get any error message..

so, any other ideas?

#4 lynz

lynz

• Valued Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 08 June 2008 - 08:33 PM

Hi MoBo2512,