• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 JohnLTR19

JohnLTR19

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 29 August 2007 - 10:39 AM

I am using the free version of Ad-Aware 2007. Starting only yesterday, an Ad-Aware icon appears in my bottom right taskbar despite not having changed any of my Ad-Aware settings. When I click on it, nothing is activated. I tried removing it from start up using third party software, but the icon reappears every time at start up. The name of the file showing in my third party Start Up Removal software is:

Key:HKLM:Run
Program: AAWTray
File: C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-Aware 2007\AAWTray.exe.

I am a newbie to this forum & would appreciate the help. :)

#2 mikefahy

mikefahy

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 29 August 2007 - 01:00 PM

I am using the free version of Ad-Aware 2007. Starting only yesterday, an Ad-Aware icon appears in my bottom right taskbar despite not having changed any of my Ad-Aware settings. When I click on it, nothing is activated. I tried removing it from start up using third party software, but the icon reappears every time at start up. The name of the file showing in my third party Start Up Removal software is:

Key:HKLM:Run
Program: AAWTray
File: C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-Aware 2007\AAWTray.exe.

You're not the only one, John, and it's annoying as hell. Ad Aware Free is becoming an in-your-face annoying product with these kinds of things and, with the abundance of Spyware stoppers now available, you can do what I will do, and that is to uninstall this thing and find an alternative.

For now, I just used the task manager to kill AAWTray.exe and have deleted it fron the Lavasoft directory. It tries to download again it every time I run the program and I've had about all the Lavasoft intrusions I need.

Edited by mikefahy, 29 August 2007 - 01:07 PM.

#3 gpzbc

gpzbc

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 30 August 2007 - 04:27 AM

Arrgghh!!!!!