Jump to content


Photo

What Happens When Quarantined Objects Are Deleted?


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 sneakachu

sneakachu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 19 July 2007 - 11:20 PM

When you go into the Quarantined Objects section of Ad Aware, if you select the objects and delete them, does that delete the malicious files from your computer, or does it take them out of quarantine and release them back into your system?

#2 spike-nz

spike-nz

    Advanced Member

  • Volunteer Security Advisor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3092 posts

Posted 24 July 2007 - 05:31 AM

Hi sneakachu,

Whilst items are in quarantine, they are unable to affect your system.

Deleting a quarantined item will indeed remove all traces of the contents from your computer. The reason that it is considered best to retain quarantined items for several weeks, is that the items removed may include files essential to either the operation of your system, or a program on which you rely. You may find that you need to reinstate a particular item to get your system functioning properly again.

Not every single item detected is actually harmful - sometimes there is the occasional "false-positive", which is what this section of the forum is for: False Positives

Hope that answers your question.

Regards,

Spike




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users